The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964 to recognize and honor some of our nation’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors.  This is the nation’s highest honors for high school students. Each year, up to 161 students are named as Presidential Scholars.

“Great teachers help unleash creativity and unlock potential in each student. They help prepare each student for successful careers and a meaningful life.”

Betsy DeVos, U.S. Secretary of Education

Each 2019 Presidential Scholar is asked to name a teacher that has been the most influential in his/her learning journey. This year, SR student Sonia Purohit has received the 2019 Presidential Scholar award and has named founder and director of Storming Robots, Elizabeth Mabrey, to be the one most influential educator in her learning journey. 

Elizabeth is passionate about students needing to learn to be problem solvers, and has exercised a unique engineering process with the students here at SR. She has a key focus on making sure students not only know “how to calculate,” but “how to apply concepts” as well. Her mentoring has reached many students who continue to build on and apply their skills in order to maximize their creative potential.

Read about Sonia’s award here!

See who else joined Elizabeth on the list of most influential educators. You can check out the complete list of Distinguished Teachers here.

Here is the link to the newspaper article.